Other Extracts

The Great War

This "Roll of Honour" appeared in the Newry Reporter on 6th June 1915. With thanks to Great War Ulster Newspaper Archive for the original images.

Markethill Roll of Honour.

The "Roll of Honour" which has lately been placed in Mullabrack Parish Church, Markethill, contains the following names:--

Lord Acheson.
James Adair.
James Anderson.
Alex. M'Laughlin.
Joseph Dougan.
Fredk. Hooks, R.E.
Frank Anderson.
Robert Williamson.
Geo. Callaghan.
Andrew Johnston.
William Meighan.
John Thos. Quinn.
John Beck.
Ludwig M'Stay.
Alex. White, sen.
John White.
Hugh White.
James Dougan.
William Couser.
Samuel Robinson.
Samuel Moore.
John M'Laughlin.
Patrick Acheson, R.N.
James Whiteside.
Mathew Magill.
Alfred Frame.
William Kilpatrick.
Robert Hoy.
Thos. J. Grant.
John Callaghan.
William J. Glassey.
William Graham.
William M'Mullan.
William Clydesdale.
William Williamson.
Alexander White, jun.
George White.
William Stewart.
John Warnock.
John Hooks.
Robert Burns.
James Brown.
James Stockdale.
Samuel Spence.

Of these a good number are at the front, several of whom have been killed and many wounded.


^ top of page