Centenary Book of the First Presbyterian Church Portadown

History on a Page

Portadown Constituted a Congregation in 1822.

In Dromore Presbytery 1822-1834.

In Armagh Presbytery 1834.


First Minister -- ALEXANDER HERON M.A.
          Ordained 12th December, 1822.
          Resigned August, 1826.

Second Minister -- Wm. T.G. DOWLING. M.A.
          Ordained 1st March, 1827.
          Died 7th January, 1838.

Third Minister -- ALEX. KERR.
          Ordained 21st June, 1838.
          Resigned 16th July, 1840.

Fourth Minister -- LEONARD D. ELLIOTT, M.A.
          Ordained 17th February, 1841.
          Died 2nd April, 1881.

Fifth Minister -- ROBERT VINT, B.A.
          Ordained 26th January, 1876.
          Resigned 26th August, 1880.

Sixth Minister -- WM. J. MACAULAY, B.A., D.D.
          Ordained Stranorlar, 14th October, 1874.
          Installed Portadown, 20th January, 1881.
          Moderator of Synod, 1894-1895.
          Moderator General Assembly, 1913-1914.
          Convener Weak Congregations Mission 1896-1916.
          Died 21st September, 1916.

Seventh Minister -- JOHN HENEY, B.A, B.D.
          Ordained Culnady 21st October, 1900.
          Installed Limavady (2nd), 1st Oct., 1907.
          Installed Portadown (1st), 29th March,1917.


First church built 1822.

Manse built 1855.

Second Church built 1858.

Enlarged 1891.

New Vestibule and memorial Tablets Erected 1920.


^ top of page